How Sweet It Is (to Be Loved by You) - Marvin Gaye

Marvin Gaye: Gets His Groove

Episode 2

Episode date - February 8, 2008

How Music Changed

    Last show we began our coverage of Marvin Gaye by playing some of his earliest material. That show amply demonstrated the dichotomy of Marvin’s personality and its effect on his art, by conveying the tension between how he saw himself and how his audience (and his record label) saw him.

    Marvin resisted the pressure to present himself as a pop/soul singer icon, but his efforts were constantly thwarted by the success of his pop hits. This show portrays the stage where the artist decided to succumb to the inevitable, and recorded a remarkable run of memorable hits.

    For most of this show, we can let the music do the talking.

    Here’s a list of songs covered in this program;

    1) Wherever I Lay My Hat (That’s My Home)

    2) I Wonder

    3) You’re a Wonderful One

    4) Try It Baby

    5) Baby Don’t You Do It

    6) How Sweet It Is (to Be Loved by You)

    7) Ramblin’ Rose

    8) I’ll Be Doggone

    9) Pretty Little Baby

    10) Ain’t That Peculiar

    11) One More Heartache

    12) Little Darling (I Need You)

    13) What Good Am I Without You

    14) It Takes Two

    15) Your Unchanging Love

    Channel 135 - Marvin Gaye