Walk On By – Dionne Warwick

Burt Bacharach: Enter Hal David

Episode 2

Episode date - June 21, 2013

How Music Changed

    With this show, you can easily sense Bacharach deliberately moving away from his battle to appeal to the trendy teen pop crowd.

    With these songs, he seems to be more interested in pleasing himself than any particular target demographic, hoping that an audience would recognize the slightly off-kilter brilliance and originality of his style. Luckily, teenagers were not the only people buying 45 RPM records, and Bacharach found his audience at almost the same time that he found his lifelong lyricist, Hal David.

    Songs featured in this show include;

    1) The Man Who Shot Liberty Valence – Gene Pitney

    2) Mexican Divorce- Ry Cooder

    3) Make It Easy on Yourself – Jerry Butler

    4) Only Love Can Break a Heart – Gene Pitney

    5) Don’t Make Me Over – Dionne Warwick

    6) Blue on Blue – Bobby Vinton

    7) True Love Never Runs Smooth – Gene Pitney

    8) Twenty Four Hours from Tulsa – Gene Pitney

    9) Wives and Lovers – Jack Jones

    10) Anyone Who Had a Heart- Dionne Warwick

    11) Walk On By – Dionne Warwick

    Channel 142 - Burt Bacharach