Simon & Garfunkel - Together and Apart

Simon & Garfunkel: Together Again... & Apart

Episode 12

Episode date - April 15, 2016

How Music Changed

    Considering Paul Simon’s determination to maintain a solo career and Art Garfunkel’s allegedly incorrigible nature, it seems amazing that the duo would have reunited as often as they have, even if only for a short while.

    Such was the public demand, though, that not reuniting would have been like avoiding the elephant in the room. Personal difficulties provided the impetus to reunite, and when New York City paved the way for the biggest free concert in the city’s history, it made the re-pairing virtually inevitable, even if it was to be short-lived.

    Simon set back on course to reenergize his solo career and released an excellent album, that nonetheless did not get the warm reception that it deserved. It was a time for self-doubt and reassessment.

    Featured tracks include;

    1) A Heart in New York – Art Garfunkel

    2) Mrs. Robinson (live)

    3) Wake Up Little Susie (live)

    4) Bridge Over Troubled Water (live)

    5) Old Friends (live)

    6) Allergies

    7) Hearts and Bones

    8) Think Too Much

    9) Train in the Distance

    10) Rene and Georgette Magritte with Their Dog After the War

    11) The Late Great Johnny Ace

    Channel 146 - Simon & Garfunkel