Eric Clapton: Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs

Episode 8

Episode date - November 28, 2014

How Music Changed

    When Delaney and Bonnie’s band fell apart, the remaining bandmembers came to Clapton, suggesting that they continue working, only with him as a bonafide frontman.

    As usual, Clapton recoiled from the idea of being the center of attention (thus the deflected bandname of ‘Derek’) but he definitely liked the idea of working with these American musicians who supported him so well. This, abetted by Clapton’s obsession with George Harrison’s wife, Patti, provided the basis for Clapton’s next project, another short-lived band that lasted for one album.

    This show features highlights from Derek and the Domino’s sole release, “Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs”.

    Featured tracks include;

    1) Layla

    2) I Looked Away

    3) Bell Bottom Blues

    4) Anyday

    5) Have You Ever Loved a Woman

    6) Little Wing

    7) Crossroads (live)

    Channel 144 - Eric Clapton