The Luney Landing – Captain Zap & the Motortown Cut-Ups

Every Single Motown 'A-Side': Motown Getting Weird

Episode 47

Episode date - May 8, 2009

How Music Changed

    This point is when Motown starts to get a bit weird.

    The label with the biggest collection of stars, a bevy of ace musicians, and a reputation that is incomparable, starts to make a number of bad decisions. The music reflected the problems, but even with so much going wrong, the label still manages an impressive degree of success.

    Songs from today’s show include:

    1) Don’t Let the Joneses Get You Down – The Temptations

    2) Just Ain’t Enough Love – The Isley Brothers

    3) Green Grow the Lilacs – The Originals

    4) No Matter What Sign You Are – Diana Ross & the Supremes

    5) I’m Still a Struggling Man – Edwin Starr

    6) The Nitty Gritty – Gladys Knight & the Pips

    7) Doggone Right – Smokey Robinson & the Miracles

    8) Here I Go Again – Smokey Robinson & the Miracles

    9) Abraham, Martin & John – Smokey Robinson & the Miracles

    10) I’ve Lost Everything I’ve Ever Loved – David Ruffin

    11) Stubborn Kind of Fellow – Diana Ross & the Supremes and the Temptations

    12) The Luney Landing – Captain Zap & the Motortown Cut-Ups

    13) Oh, I’ve Been Blessed – Bobby Taylor

    Channel 137 - Every Single Motown 'A-Side'