Didn’t You Know You’d Have to Cry Sometime – Gladys Knight & the Pips

Every Single Motown 'A-Side': Spring of 1969

Episode 46

Episode date - May 1, 2009

How Music Changed

    The Spring of 1969 was a rich period for pop music, but Motown was no longer leading the parade.

    18 of Motown’s releases reached the top 20 in 1969. Those are good numbers by any standard, but they are disappointing when compared with the nearly 110 that charted in the five years from 1963 to 1968.

    Motown moved their headquarters to a glass office building in downtown Detroit, and then to the west coast, and each move took them farther away from the “blood, guts and love” that originally held the label together like a family.

    Here is a list of songs from today’s program;

    1) Didn’t You Know You’d Have to Cry Sometime – Gladys Knight & the Pips

    2) I’ll Try Something New – Diana Ross & the Supremes and the Temptations

    3) Are You Lonely for Me, Baby? – Chuck Jackson

    4) I Feel Like I’m Falling in Love Again – The Fantastic Four

    5) We’ve Got Honey Love – Martha & the Vandellas

    6) Runaway Child, Running Wild – Earl Van Dyke

    7) For Better or Worse – Jonah Jones

    8) The Composer – Diana Ross & the Supremes

    9) My Cup Runneth Over – Billy Eckstine

    10) Too Busy Thinking About My Baby – Marvin Gaye

    11) What Is a Man – The Four Tops

    12) Cherie – The Honest Men

    13) What Does It Take (To Win Your Love) - Jr. Walker & the All Stars

    Channel 137 - Every Single Motown 'A-Side'