The Rolling Stones at Altamont

The Rolling Stones: Live Bleed

Episode 23

Episode date - January 31, 2014

How Music Changed

    With all of the controversy and difficulties that overwhelmed the Rolling Stones through 1968 and 1969, one might have thought that the worst was behind them, but not quite yet.

    As the Woodstock nation tried to find a way to the future, we saw the end of that road on December 6, 1969, at Altamont Speedway. Of course, the Rolling Stones were front and center when the violence swelled. The band was ending a successful tour of the United States, their first since 1966 and also their first with new guitarist Mick Taylor.

    This show features the balance of “Let It Bleed,”, followed by a few live tracks taken from Madison Square Garden performances from November 1969, one month before Altamont. We’ll continue with more live material next week.

    Featured tracks include;

    1) You Got the Silver

    2) Monkey Man

    3) You Can’t Always Get What You Want

    4) Prodigal Son (live)

    5) You Gotta Move (live)

    6) I’m Free (live)

    7) I Can’t Get No Satisfaction (live)

    8) Stray Cat Blues (live)

    9) Love In Vain (live)

    Channel 143 - The Rolling Stones