Clapton & Cream - First Supergroup

Episode 3

Episode date - October 8, 2014

How Music Changed

    While the rest of Great Britain’s young musicians were getting ridiculously famous in America, Eric Clapton spent a large part of 1965 woodshedding, honing his craft and thinking about his next move. When he finally emerged as the guitarist for John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers, he was bursting with an ambition that had no specific direction.

    He had met a bass player named Jack Bruce that impressed him, so when Ginger Baker suggested that Clapton join a band with him, Clapton agreed, but only if Jack Bruce would agree play bass. It was a loaded suggestion, as Baker and Bruce had a great deal of animosity between them, but their differences were put aside and the trio came together to become the world’s first ‘Supergroup’, a power trio made up of the ‘cream’ of England’s musicians.

    For most Americans, Cream marks our introduction to Eric Clapton. The band’s first American single, “Sunshine of Your Love,” became a huge hit in 1967 and so did the band’s first two albums, “Fresh Cream” and “Disraeli Gears.” This show covers the first half of Cream’s existence, before the subliminal tensions again rose to the surface.

    Featured tracks include;

    1) Wrapping Paper

    2) I Feel Free

    3) N.S.U.

    4) Spoonful

    5) I’m So Glad

    6) Lawdy Mama

    7) Tales of Brave Ulysses

    8) Strange Brew

    9) Sunshine of Your Love

    10) Swlabr

    11) Outside Woman Blues

    Channel 144 - Eric Clapton