Sam and Dave

Stax: Stability Comes to Town

Episode 5

Episode date - May 22, 2015

How Music Changed

    By late 1964, things began to stabilize at Stax. Otis Redding’s prominence at the label increased, and he recorded some of his best work around this time.

    The label continued to interchange bandmembers for releases by the Mar-Keys and Booker T & the MG’s with little concern for maintaining consistent personnel, and a few new acts walked in the door to record, including a duo that went by the name Sam and Dave.

    Featured tracks include;

    1) Chained and Bound – Otis Redding

    2) Spunky – Johnny Jenkins

    3) Can’t Be Still – Booker T & the MG’s

    4) Mr. Pitiful – Otis Redding

    5) That’s How Strong My Love Is – Otis Redding

    6) Banana Juice –The Mar-Keys

    7) A Place Nobody Can Find – Sam and Dave

    8) Goodnight Baby – Sam and Dave

    9) Boot-Leg – Booker T & the MG’s

    10) Outrage – Booker T & the MG’s

    11) I’ve Been Loving You Too Long – Otis Redding

    12) I’m Depending on You – Otis Redding

    Channel 145 - Stax