Rufus Thomas - Walking the Dog

Stax: The Early Memphis Sound

Episode 3

Episode date - May 8, 2015

How Music Changed

    By late 1962, Stax had a reasonable level of success. A handful of their singles were selling, and they had Atlantic Records to help them get distributed around the country.

    The neighborhood kids were doing a pretty good job of turning out catchy hits, so they stuck with releases by the Mar-Keys, Booker T and the MG’s and William Bell, along with Rufus Thomas. A few new faces would walk in the door, and they were always open to giving new talent a chance, which is pretty much how Otis Redding got his start. At Stax, it was just another recording session, but the cumulative effect was starting to add up to something new and distinct. Without really trying, the ‘Memphis Sound’ was starting to be formulated in these sessions.

    Featured tracks include;

    1) Sack-O-Woe – The Mar-Keys

    2) These Arms of Mine – Otis Redding

    3) The Dog – Rufus Thomas

    4) Jelly Bread – Booker T & the MG’s

    5) What a Fool I’ve Been – Carla Thomas

    6) The Hawg, Part One – Eddie Kirk

    7) Chines Checkers – Booker T & the MG’s

    8) Somebody Mentioned Your Name – William Bell

    9) That’s What My Heart Needs – Otis Redding

    10) Bango – Billy & the King Bees

    11) Walkin’ the Dog – Rufus Thomas

    Channel 145 - Stax