The Beatles: The Ballad of John and Yoko/Old Brown Shoe

The Beatles: The Ballad of John and Yoko

Episode 63

Episode date - February 1, 2013

How Music Changed

    After the contentious ‘White Album’ sessions, and the disastrous ’Get Back’ sessions, the Beatles essentially ceased to exist as a band. Virtually all work came to a halt, as the band argued about direction (or lack thereof), management, legal representation, and the dissolution of Apple.

    The Beatles did not release an album since late 1968, and their last single, “Hey Jude”, was eight months old. From a fan’s perspective, this represented a virtual drought and with ‘Get Back’ shelved indefinitely, it appeared unlikely that any new music would be made public for quite awhile.

    Somehow, though, the band managed to pull themselves together to allow some of their material to trickle out, and released two singles within one month of one another. To the public, it felt that perhaps the Beatles were on the road to recovery. It was a misperception, but it was nice while it lasted.

    Songs featured in this show include;

    1) Get Back (45)

    2) Don’t Let Me Down (45)

    3) All Things Must Pass (demo)

    4) Old Brown Shoe (demo)

    5) Something (demo)

    6) The Ballad of John and Yoko

    7) Old Brown Shoe

    8) Give Peace a Chance – Plastic Ono Band

    9) Remember Love – Plastic Ono Band

    Channel 141 - The Beatles