The Beatles: The White Album Sessions

The Beatles: The White Album Sessions

Episode 53

Episode date - November 9, 2012

How Music Changed

    After the longest break between album releases in their career, The Beatles finally emerged with new product. The band’s last full-length album of all new material dated back to “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band,” which was nearly one-and-a-half years old, but if felt even longer.

    Since the death of Brian Epstein, most press had a negative bent and public sentiment had grown wary of the band. Failed business ventures, solo projects, personal relationships and drug busts all contributed to the negative impression that started to haunt the band, and the Beatles themselves were struggling to survive in a stifling atmosphere that had them growing apart.

    As a product, “The Beatles”, aka ’The White Album,” perfectly captured the confusion, divisiveness and turmoil that surrounded the band, and it was brilliant. All the world over, 1968 was a LOT different than 1967, and “The Beatles” reflected that change of attitude. This time, the genius of the band’s music was less deliberate in its quest to convey something wholly new and original, but nonetheless, the four sides of the White Album was an emotional powerhouse full of strange new sounds and sentiments.

    With the four Beatles operating more as individuals than a band, this album contained the most emotionally direct and personal music of their career to date.

    This show features all of side one and two of “The Beatles, including;

    1) Back in the U.S.S.R.

    2) Dear Prudence

    3) Glass Onion

    4) O-bla-di, O-bla-da

    5) Wild Honey Pie

    6) The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill

    7) While My Guitar Gently Weeps

    8) Happiness Is a Warm Gun

    9) Martha My Dear

    10) I’m So Tired

    11) Blackbird

    12) Piggies

    13) Rocky Racoon

    14) Don’t Pass Me By

    15) Why Don’t We Do It in the Road

    16) I Will

    17) Julia

    Channel 141 - The Beatles